News and Events

Bush Assumes Role of Liaison to UNC SOM Physician Assistant Program

December 3, 2015 | In Faculty

Dr. Tom Bush will take over from Dr. Debra Barksdale as the UNC School of Nursing liaison and advisory board member for the new School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program. Our thanks to Dr. Barksdale for her service in this role and to Dr. Bush for stepping forward to represent us!

Durham’s Harrowing Fight with Septic Shock Featured

November 20, 2015 | In Faculty, News, SON Media Coverage

Friends asked how she felt about having former students as her caregivers.

“I was relieved and happy when I looked up and saw familiar faces,” she says. “There was no better nurse for me because I know how they were trained, I know they had an excellent education, and UNC nurses are amazing.”

—an excerpt from an excellent feature on the story of Carol Durham‘s frightening bout with sepsis and her engagement in the care she received from the nurses and physicians at UNC.

Read More…