News and Events

Nance-Floyd and Zomorodi to Present at CNLA Regional Conference

September 25, 2015 | In Faculty

Betty Nance-Floyd and Meg Zomorodi have been selected to present at the Clinical Nurse Leader Association Regional Conference in Birmingham, Alabama in October. Building off work funded by AHEC and the Macy Foundation, Nance-Floyd and Zomorodi will present on the lessons learned when implementing clinical nurse leaders into interprofessional teams in a primary care setting.

Noreen Esposito inducted into Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners

August 7, 2015 | In Faculty, News

Associate Professor Noreen Esposito, EdD, PMHNP/WHNP/FNP-BC, was recently inducted as a Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP). For more than 25 years, Dr. Esposito has been a leader in advance practice nursing, having practiced as a women’s health nurse practitioner, family nurse practitioner, and a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner.

Read More…

Cheryl Woods Giscombé Named Macy Faculty Scholar

July 8, 2015 | In Education, Faculty, News

Assistant professor Cheryl Woods Giscombé, PhD, MSN, RN, PMHNP, has been named one of five 2015 Macy Faculty Scholars by the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation. This award includes salary support over two years, which Dr. Giscombé will use to develop an innovative educational institute that provides clinical experiences that strengthen the ability of pre-professional students to provide care to people who face mental health disparities.

Read More…

Margarete Sandelowski to be Inducted into Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

May 28, 2015 | In Faculty, News

Margarete Sandelowski, PhD, RN, FAAN, Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor at the UNC School of Nursing, will be inducted into the 2015 Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame recognizes nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves. Dr. Sandelowski is one of only 19 nurse researchers globally to receive the honor this year.

Read More…