News and Events

Lanning Receives SON Global Health Scholar Award and Matching Grant from UNC Center for Global Initiatives

March 4, 2016 | In Faculty, Global Health, News Tags:

Assistant Professor Rhonda Lanning was awarded a School of Nursing Global Health Scholar Award that received a matching grant from the UNC Center for Global Initiatives. Lanning and ABSN honors student Leslie Hackenbracht, who is a former Public Health Foreign Service Officer with USAID, will be using the funds to travel to Haiti over spring break.

Read More…

IPE Webinar May 5

March 1, 2016 | In Faculty, IPE

Interested in faculty development for IPE? Join this webinar on Thursday, May 5, 2pm EST: Effective Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice in Nursing Education

Presenter: Dr. Elizabeth Speakman, Thomas Jefferson University  

Read More…

Local Service Opportunities—We Need Your Help!

February 11, 2016 | In Faculty, Global Health, Service, Staff, Students

For the month of February, please help us collect vitamins, over the counter meds, children’s book bags and $$ for Latino health!

Our Nursing Service Learning course 609.001 is working on improving migrant Latino health in our area and  in Nicaragua over spring break (March 11-21). In Nicaragua we will be doing children’s health screenings at Casa Bernabe Orphanage along with outreach to poor under-resourced clinics such as the Clinica Neuva Vida that provides health care to families.

Read More…

SON’s “Heels on the Move” Place 22nd in Statewide Walking Competition

February 4, 2016 | In Faculty, Staff

In October and November, Lisa Miller, Jordan Wolf, Minh Quach, Grace Chen, Cheryl Blake, Sam Deal, Charlene Womble, Ariel Adams, Brandy Elsenrath, and Al Elsenrath (Brandy’s father, School of Dentistry) teamed up to participate in the Miles for Wellness “Plymouth Pilgrimage” challenge issued by the NC Office of Human Resources. Calling themselves “Heels on the Move,” the crew came in 22nd out of 71 teams!

Read More…