Office of Academic Affairs

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

The Office of Academic Affairs (OAA) coordinates the major activities that contribute to the School of Nursing’s educational mission. We serve as a resource for faculty and students in both the undergraduate and graduate programs. Major responsibilities in OAA include:

  • Academic advisement and student progression issues
  • Clinical site development and management of clinical contracts
  • Coordination of accreditation and regulatory requirements
  • Coordination of course schedules and maps
  • Coordination of faculty workload policies
  • Depository for plans of student, comprehensive exams, thesis/dissertation approvals
  • Development and coordination of academic policies and procedures
  • Liaison with the Graduate School
  • Maintenance of graduate faculty appointments
  • Program evaluation oversight, including course and teaching evaluations
  • Strategic planning for academic programs
  • Undergraduate Honors Program
  • Visiting International Scholars Program

The Office is located in 1000 Carrington. Staff is available to assist students and faculty between 8 AM and 5 PM, Monday through Friday. The general phone number is 919.966.3734. 

Staff

Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor & Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Phone: (919) 966-3734
Email: Gwen.Sherwood@unc.edu

Debra Barksdale, PhD, FNP-BC, ANP-BC, CNE, FAANP, FAAN, Associate Professor & Director, Doctor of Nursing Practice Program

Phone: (919) 843-2479
Email: djbarksdale@unc.edu

Jennifer Piersma D’Auria, PhD, RN, CPNP, Associate Professor & Director, Master’s Programs

Phone: (919) 966-3586
Email: jdauria@email.unc.edu

Beverly Foster, PhD, RN, Clinical Associate Professor & Director, Undergraduate Program

Phone: (919) 966-4995
Email: bbfoster@email.unc.edu

LaTressa Lane Higgins, Data Coordinator for Clinical Sites and Contracts

Phone: (919) 966-3735
Email: llhiggin@email.unc.edu

Renee Hill, MA, RN, Clinical Assistant Professor & Undergraduate Clinical Site Coordinator

Phone: (919) 843-8574
Email: ryhill@email.unc.edu

Janet Hughes, Administrative Support Specialist

Phone: (919) 966-7511
Email: jmhughes@email.unc.edu

Liska Lackey, MSN, FNP, Clinical Assistant Professor & Graduate Clinical Site Coordinator

Phone: (919) 966-9420
Email: llackey@email.unc.edu

Lica Strasner, Administrative Support Specialist

Phone: (919) 966-3733
Email: strasner@email.unc.edu

Suzanne Thoyre, PhD, RN, Associate Professor & Director, PhD and Post-Doctoral Programs

Phone: (919) 966-8418
Email: thoyre@email.unc.edu