Skip to main content

Carolina Nursing senior voted in as secretary of NC Association of Student Nurses

Sarah Letchworth (BSN ’21) was recently named secretary of the North Carolina Association of Student Nurses. She is the current chapter president of ANS at UNC, and plans on pursuing a career as an NICU nurse, before returning to school for her DNP with the hopes of becoming a nurse educator. Congratulations, Sarah!  

Categories: Students

Santos awarded R01 grant for research on genomics and child development

Congratulations to Hudson Santos, PhD, RN, who has received almost 2 million dollars in funding from the National Institute of Nursing Research for his research in genomics and child development. The 5-year project, titled “Genetic and Epigenetic Effects on Childhood Cognitive Trajectories”, focuses on identifying interactions between genetic factors, neonatal inflammation, and epigenetic factors predict trajectories of cognitive development from birth to age 17 years among children born extremely preterm. You can read the project narrative below. Dr. Santos is an Assistant Professor at the School of Nursing, as well … Continued

Lewis selected as Duke-Johnson & Johnson Leadership fellow

SON clinical instructor (and Assistant Professor in the Adams School of Dentistry) Ryan Lewis, MSN, RN, FNP-BC has been selected as a fellow for the Duke-Johnson & Johnson Nurse Leadership Program. The Duke-Johnson & Johnson Nurse Leadership Program, a 10-month experience, is a partnership between Duke University School of Medicine, Duke University School of Nursing and Johnson & Johnson. The program provides leadership development for advanced practice nurses and their team partners to develop and launch transformational health improvement initiatives within their organizations and communities. Selected fellows start the program … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, Leadership, News

Cortés receives NIH Loan Repayment Program Award

Dr. Yamnia Cortés, Assistant Professor, has been awarded an NIH Loan Repayment Award through the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for her research in cardiovascular disease risk in midlife Latinas. About the NIH Loan Repayment Award: “The NIH Loan Repayment Programs (LRPs) are a set of programs established by Congress and designed to recruit and retain highly qualified health professionals into biomedical or biobehavioral research careers. The escalating costs of advanced education and training in medicine and clinical specialties are forcing some scientists to abandon their research careers for … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News, Research

Santos elected to ISONG Board of Directors

Dr. Hudson Santos, Assistant Professor and Interim Director of the Biobehavioral Laboratory has been elected to the International Society of Nurses in Genetics (ISONG) Board of Directors. Dr. Santos’s work in symptom science, genomics, early life adversity, and child neurodevelopment makes him a great representative for ISONG’s mission to “foster and advocate for the scientific and professional development of its members and the nursing community, in the discovery, interpretation, application, and management of genomic information, for the promotion of the public’s health and wellbeing.” Congrats, Dr. Santos!

SON PhD candidate Elizabeth Allen receives NLN scholarship

Congratulations to Carolina Nursing doctoral student Elizabeth Allen (BSN ’15) who has been awarded a Home Instead Scholarship by the National League for Nursing! The NLN Foundation for Nursing Education and Home Instead Senior Care offer the scholarship to foster geriatric nursing education, awarding funds to nursing students in relevant courses of study. According NLN, “Older adults are one of the most vulnerable populations and access health care services most frequently. There is widespread acknowledgement that nursing school graduates must be better prepared to deliver outstanding, culturally sensitive care to … Continued

Categories: Awards, News, Students

Toles named Beerstecher-Blackwell Distinguished Term Scholar

Associate Professor Mark Toles, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been named a Beerstecher-Blackwell Distinguished Term Scholar. The Beerstecher-Blackwell Distinguished Professorship Fund was endowed in the School of Nursing Foundation to memorialize Carol Ann Beerstecher-Blackwell, BSN ’71, a pediatric nurse and lecturer at the SON, and to recognize SON faculty whose accomplishments and career are determined by their colleagues to be highly significant to the discipline, the University and the School. Dr. Toles’ expertise and in-depth program of research in quality of care in nursing homes and transitional care of older adults … Continued

Categories: Awards, Homepage News, News

Meet a new Tar Heel: Raven Smith (via

Raven Smith, incoming SON PhD student, is profiled on Smith’s research will focus on generational trauma and DNA methylation, or cellular-level manifestations of trauma that are passed down from generation to generation, specifically in minority communities. Read more.

Giscombe receives nearly $3.1 million to improve health outcomes for African American Women through stress management

Congratulations to Cheryl L. Woods Giscombé, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC on being awarded nearly $3.1 million in research grant funding from the National Institute on Minority and Health Disparities to improve health outcomes for African American Women at high risk for cardiovascular disease, stroke and diabetes through culturally relevant mindfulness and stress management interventions. Dr. Giscombé is the Melissa and Harry LeVine Family Associate Professor of Quality of Life, Health Promotion and Wellness at the School of Nursing, and her program of research focuses on understanding and reducing stress-related health disparities among … Continued

Bryant and Soltis-Jarrett elected fellows in American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) has announced the 2020 class of fellows, including SON faculty members Ashley Leak Bryant, PhD, RN-BC, OCN, FAAN and Victoria-Soltis Jarrett, PhD, PMHCNS/NP-BC, FAAN! New alumni fellows include Sharon Lock, BSN ’75 PhD, APRN, Pamela Lusk, MSN ’78, DNP, RN, PMHNP-BC, FAANP, FNAP, and AnnMarie Walton, BSN ’03, PhD, MPH, RN, OCN, CHES. In the AAN press release, Academy President Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN lauded the achievements of the new fellows:  “I am honored to welcome this exceptional class to the American Academy of Nursing. … Continued