The School of Nursing Alumni Association

With more than 9,000 living and active alumni around the globe, the School of Nursing Alumni Association (SONAA) supports Carolina Nursing’s efforts to stay connected to our graduates. Here’s how:


All graduates of the UNC School of Nursing are automatically members of the SON Alumni Association. Today, the Association has more than 9,000 members, hundreds of which participate actively in the Association’s events and activities.

The Association is overseen by a board of directors and is administered by an executive director. The Board meets annually to plan the year’s activities and to manage the requests for student support.

Among the initiatives carried out annually by the Association are:

  • Scholarship support for four outstanding students
  • Gifts to all graduating BSN, MSN and PhD students
  • Sponsorship of welcome breakfasts for new students
  • Management of an annual alumni awards program
  • Sponsorship of an undergraduate exam review break
  • Alumni Day reunion events
  • Provides discounted regional continuing education to alumni
  • Assists in reunion planning

For more information about these activities, please visit our Upcoming Alumni Events. Also, you can find out about the career enriching opportunities offered by the Center for Lifelong Learning here.

We hope you will keep updated about these and other SON news by reading Carolina Nursing, our magazine for alumni and friends. The magazine is a free publication that features interesting and informative stories on alumni, faculty and students of the School. If you are not receiving it, please update your mailing information with us by using the Alumni Information Form or contact us at (919) 966-4619 or

Be sure to check out the UNC General Alumni Association homepage, too, for updates on all UNC alumni activities and events.

Interested in serving on the SONAA Board? Click here for more information!


President: Susan Andrews
Secretary: Kathryn Jones
Treasurer: Monica Lowe Przbylek
Student Representative: Alisha Haynes
President-Elect: Cheryl Conway
Past President: Roulhac Johnson
Faculty Representative: Meg Zomorodi


Kathryn Bauk
Betsy Monroe Bradshaw
Frieda Bryant Bruton
Ann Davis Brown
Ashley Leak Bryant
Ashley Heath Capel
Leslie Ford Cogburn
Cheryl Moseley Conway
Derek Chrisco
Cynthia Dearmin
Sara M. Edwards
Jennifer C. Ferguson
Landon Lewis Fox
Tamryn Fowler Gray
Susan Ruppalt Lantz
Carol Voigt Marriott
Wesley Adam Scercy
Alyshia Wood Smith
Melody Wong Warren

Office of Advancement and Alumni Affairs

AWebb-DirectoryAnne Webb, Assistant Dean of Advancement

Phone: (919) 966-4619

LaurenHipp-WebLauren Hipp Hundley, Assistant Director of Advancement

Phone: (919) 966-4619

Kathleen Goolsby, Advancement Services Coordinator

Phone: (919) 966-4619


Keep us posted on what’s happening with you and we’ll do the same!

Learn More


Join in our events, celebrate your peers, and connect with fellow alumni and the School.

Learn More


Give back to the people and programs of the SON with gifts of your time, talent and expertise.

Learn More