With more than 9,000 living and active alumni around the globe, the School of Nursing Alumni Association (SONAA) supports Carolina Nursing’s efforts to stay connected to our graduates. Here’s how:


All graduates of the UNC School of Nursing are automatically members of the SON Alumni Association. Today, the Association has more than 9,000 members, hundreds of which participate actively in the Association’s events and activities.

The Association is overseen by a board of directors and is administered by an executive director. The Board meets annually to plan the year’s activities and to manage the requests for student support.

Among the initiatives carried out annually by the Association are:

  • Scholarship support for four outstanding students
  • Gifts to all graduating BSN, MSN and PhD students
  • Sponsorship of welcome breakfasts for new students
  • Management of an annual alumni awards program
  • Sponsorship of an undergraduate exam review break
  • Alumni Day reunion events
  • Provides discounted regional continuing education to alumni
  • Assists in reunion planning

For more information about these activities, please visit our Upcoming Alumni Events. Also, you can find out about the career enriching opportunities offered by the Center for Lifelong Learning here.

We hope you will keep updated about these and other SON news by reading Carolina Nursing, our magazine for alumni and friends. The magazine is a free publication that features interesting and informative stories on alumni, faculty and students of the School. If you are not receiving it, please update your mailing information with us by using the Alumni Information Form or contact us at (919) 966-4619 or sonalum@unc.edu.

Be sure to check out the UNC General Alumni Association homepage, too, for updates on all UNC alumni activities and events.

Interested in serving on the SONAA Board? Click here for more information!



President: Ashley Leak Bryant
Secretary: Jennifer C. Ferguson
Treasurer: Call Voigt Marriott
Student Representative: Leah Morgan
President-Elect: Lesley Forde Cogburn
Past President: Cheryl Moseley Conway
Faculty Representative: Louise Fleming


Megan Brissie
Mary Maddrey Chandler
Christina Dunbar
Amy Hauser
Cheryl Vaughn Howe
Maryann Ingersoll
Christopher Derek Miller
Angelo Moore
Schquthia Peacock
Laura Piver
Melissa Williams Toper
Debbie Weaver


Office of Advancement and Alumni Affairs

Kelly Kirby | Associate Dean for Advancement

Office: 301

Development and Alumni Relations

Shannon Smith | Director of Development

Office: 316A


Search Underway | Advancement Services Coordinator

Office: 316



Deanna Wilkie | Director of Annual Fund and Alumni and Donor Relations

Office: 301C


Mariah Keller | Director of Communications

Office: 301B


Thomas Costello | Digital Media Manager

Office: 301D


Andrea Cummings | Event Coordinator

Office: 316