Skip to main content

Kelly receives Susan Peck Excellence in Nursing Award

Congratulations to associate professor Maureen Kelly, DNP, CPNP, who has received the Susan Peck Excellence in Nursing Award, presented at the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (NASPGHAN) annual meeting! Maureen was selected for this award as “well-deserved recognition of her efforts in advancing the care of children with IBD at a local and national level.” In addition to teaching, she is currently a PNP in the Pediatric Division of Gastroenterology at UNC Health.

Alexander receives Vanderbilt Alumni Award for Diversity and Inclusion

Congratulations to Clinical Professor Rumay Alexander who has received the Vanderbilt Alumni Award for Diversity and Inclusion for her continued dedication to equity in nursing! via the Vanderbilt School of Nursing:  Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN, professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Nursing; special assistant to the dean for the UNC-CH Adams School of Dentistry; and former UNC-CH associate vice-chancellor for diversity and inclusion/chief diversity officer, has been honored by Vanderbilt University School of Nursing with the school’s Alumni Award for Diversity and Inclusion. … Continued

Giscombé selected for Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research Fellowship

Congratulations to Cheryl Giscombé, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC, who has recently been elected as an Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research Fellow! Fellows of the Academy (ABMR) are elected by the Membership Committee after being nominated by two Academy Fellows. The primary criteria for ABMR membership are high levels of productivity, excellence and broad recognition for their accomplishments. In selecting fellows the Academy is pursuing its mission to “advance the field of behavioral medicine by creating and disseminating knowledge, cultivating discourse, and inspiring change that culminates in better health for all.” ABMR … Continued

Oppewal receives Ruth B. Freeman Award from APHA

Congratulations to Sonda Oppewal, PhD, MSN, RN, who has been awarded the prestigious Ruth B. Freeman Award by the American Public Health Association (APHA), Public Health Nursing Section! The Ruth B. Freeman Award honors an individual who has had a distinguished career in public health administration, education, policy, practice, or research and was presented to Dr. on October 23rd, 2020. From the awards committee: “For over 40 years Dr. Oppewal has worked to promote the health of diverse and vulnerable populations. She currently teaches undergraduate and graduate students public health … Continued

Villegas, Watts-Isley and Zomorodi receive COIL Awards

We are pleased to announce that three of our faculty members have been awarded a COIL Award from UNC Global: Congratulations to Drs. Villegas, Watts-Isley, and Zomorodi!  These awards will support two courses during the Spring 2021 semester. Both courses will have built in synchronous and asynchronous classes for 3 weeks of the semester. Read more about COIL and the awardees below. Through the Connecting Carolina Classrooms with the World initiative, the Office of the Vice Provost for Global Affairs is offering Curriculum Development Awards for Collaborative Online International Learning … Continued

Cortés elected as Fellow of the American Heart Association

The Council on Cardiovascular and Stroke Nursing has elected SON assistant professor Dr. Yamnia Cortés as a Fellow of the American Heart Association (FAHA). According to the American Heart Association, “Fellowship recognizes and awards premium professional members for their scientific and professional accomplishments, volunteer leadership, and service.” Fellowship is open to scientists, nurses, physicians, and other healthcare professionals with a productive interest in cardiovascular diseases and stroke. Congratulations, Dr. Cortés!

Santos awarded R01 grant for research on genomics and child development

Congratulations to Hudson Santos, PhD, RN, who has received almost 2 million dollars in funding from the National Institute of Nursing Research for his research in genomics and child development. The 5-year project, titled “Genetic and Epigenetic Effects on Childhood Cognitive Trajectories”, focuses on identifying interactions between genetic factors, neonatal inflammation, and epigenetic factors predict trajectories of cognitive development from birth to age 17 years among children born extremely preterm. You can read the project narrative below. Dr. Santos is an Assistant Professor at the School of Nursing, as well … Continued

Lewis selected as Duke-Johnson & Johnson Leadership fellow

SON clinical instructor (and Assistant Professor in the Adams School of Dentistry) Ryan Lewis, MSN, RN, FNP-BC has been selected as a fellow for the Duke-Johnson & Johnson Nurse Leadership Program. The Duke-Johnson & Johnson Nurse Leadership Program, a 10-month experience, is a partnership between Duke University School of Medicine, Duke University School of Nursing and Johnson & Johnson. The program provides leadership development for advanced practice nurses and their team partners to develop and launch transformational health improvement initiatives within their organizations and communities. Selected fellows start the program … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, Leadership, News

Cortés receives NIH Loan Repayment Program Award

Dr. Yamnia Cortés, Assistant Professor, has been awarded an NIH Loan Repayment Award through the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for her research in cardiovascular disease risk in midlife Latinas. About the NIH Loan Repayment Award: “The NIH Loan Repayment Programs (LRPs) are a set of programs established by Congress and designed to recruit and retain highly qualified health professionals into biomedical or biobehavioral research careers. The escalating costs of advanced education and training in medicine and clinical specialties are forcing some scientists to abandon their research careers for … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News, Research

SON PhD candidate Elizabeth Allen receives NLN scholarship

Congratulations to Carolina Nursing doctoral student Elizabeth Allen (BSN ’15) who has been awarded a Home Instead Scholarship by the National League for Nursing! The NLN Foundation for Nursing Education and Home Instead Senior Care offer the scholarship to foster geriatric nursing education, awarding funds to nursing students in relevant courses of study. According NLN, “Older adults are one of the most vulnerable populations and access health care services most frequently. There is widespread acknowledgement that nursing school graduates must be better prepared to deliver outstanding, culturally sensitive care to … Continued

Categories: Awards, News, Students