Skip to main content

Lowdermilk, Alden AJN Book of the Year Award Winners

The 11th edition of Maternity and Women’s Health Care, co-authored by retired faculty member Dee Lowdermilk and Associate Professor Kathy Alden, MSN, RN, came in first in the Maternity category of the American Journal of Nursing’s 2015 Book of the Year Awards. In earlier editions, Lowdermilk established the tradition of including fellow faculty members in this scholarly work, and Alden has carried that tradition on. Current SON faculty Marcia Van Riper, Rhonda Lanning, Jennifer Alderman, Dusty Dix, Beth Black, Noreen Esposito and Patricia Gingrich all took part in writing this 11th, award-winning … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News

Dr. Coretta Jenerette Earns 2015 C. Felix Harvey Award to Advance Institutional Priorities

Congratulations to Associate Professor Coretta Jenerette, PhD, RN, CNE, who was recently awarded the 2015 C. Felix Harvey Award! The award will provide funding for a project she developed with colleagues and community collaborators titled Developing a Virtual Training Technology to Enhance Patient-Provider Communication. The project proposes to improve communication between patients and providers, especially about pain, by teaching skills to patients in ways that enrich the patient-provider relationship and ultimately improve patient health outcomes. To accomplish this, the team will use community-based participatory methods to develop and pilot test video vignettes and … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News

Three Honored with Staff Awards

Alecia Matthews, Lindsay Crutchfield and Tiffany Cain were honored with staff awards for their significant contributions to the SON community at the SON Holiday Party on Thursday.  The following are the remarks used to present the well-deserved awards: Customer Service Award: The Customer Service Achievement Award goes to: Alecia Matthews  Alecia “expertly and professionally works to support the DNP and MSN programs. Alecia works effectively with OSA, OAA, financial services, the Graduate School and others in the university system in service of others. She also fields students’ questions, issues and problems and assures … Continued

Categories: Awards, Staff

Raphael-Grimm Receives Copp Award

Dr. Theresa Raphael-Grimm was recently announced at the 2015 Laurel Archer Copp Literary Award winner for her book: The Art of Communication in Nursing and Healthcare: A Multidisciplinary Approach. Laurel Archer Copp, former Dean of the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Nursing, endowed the award to stimulate the scholarly writing of School of Nursing faculty. Copp defined “scholarly writing” as the creative use of words to achieve insight or impact on patient care, teaching, research or service. “This is something I wanted to do from the first day I started as dean,” Copp said in … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News

Three Receive Junior Faculty Development Awards

Congratulations to Jennifer Alderman, Saif Khairat and Megan Williams! All three recently received Junior Faculty Development Awards from the UNC Chapel Hill Office of the Provost. The awards provide grant funding to each faculty member to further their research. Assistant Professor and Academic Counselor Jennifer T. Alderman, MSN, RNC-OB, CNL, will use her grant to examine student characteristics as predictors of success in her Path to Academic Success (PASS) Study. Her purpose is to identify preadmission student characteristics that are predictive of academic success in the UNC-Chapel Hill SON BSN program and … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News

Durham, IPE Team to Have Case Published in AAVMC

An interprofessional education team on which Carol Durham, EdD, RN, ANEF, FAAN is a member will have a case published in the January 2016 journal of the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC). The team, which began working together in the summer of 2015, developed the case “A Veteran and His Dog: Man’s Best Friend” for the AAVMC’s One Health Case competition in which they created a role-play scenario using standardized human and canine patients. Robert Santiago is a 63-year-old veteran who uses a service dog, Siri, a 6 year … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty

Bryant Receives Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) National Award

Ashley Leak Bryant, PhD, RN-BC, OCN will receive the 2016 ONS Excellence in Care of the Older Adult with Cancer Award during the Annual ONS Congress, April 28-May 1, 2016 in San Antonio, TX. Her contributions to the oncology nursing profession and to ONS are commendable. She has been an active member and contributor to ONS since 2003. Dr. Bryant is currently the Associate Editor (Supportive Care) for the Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing. She remains involved with the gero-oncology group through the Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center led by Hy Muss, … Continued

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News

Walton Receives Oncology Nursing Society Award

Hats off to AnnMarie Walton, PhD, MPH, RN, CHES, OCN, T32 Post-doc, who was recently awarded the 2016 Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) Excellence in Oncology Nursing Health Policy and Advocacy Award for her contributions to the oncology nursing profession. As a recipient, Walton receives a monetary prize and travel support to attend the ONS’s 2016 Congress to be held in San Antonio, Texas. Well done, AnnMarie!

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News

Center for Lifelong Learning Earns Accreditation with Distinction

Congratulations to Sonda Oppewal and the Center for Lifelong Learning (CLL) team, Susan Snyder, Ariel Adams and Kayj Okine, for being awarded Accreditation with Distinction, the highest recognition awarded by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. The commission granted the CLL accreditation for four years, from Oct. 26, 2015 to March 31, 2020. To check out the latest CLL continuing education offerings, please see their calendar here.

Categories: Awards, Education, News

Morningstar Wins Grand Prize in Game Design Contest

Congratulations to SON Webmaster, Jason Morningstar, for his recent grand prize win in an educational game design contest sponsored by the Danish company Rollespilsakademiet. His prize includes a trip to Poland later this year. The contest challenged entrants to design classroom games for 20-40 students lasting 90 minutes. Jason’s entry challenges high school students compete to colonize the islands of Oceania while learning about history, geography, and anthropology.

Categories: Awards, Staff