Bryant receives Distinguished Educator in Gerontological Nursing Award

Assistant Professor Ashley Leak Bryant was named a recipient of the inaugural National Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence (NHCGNE) Distinguished Educator in Gerontological Nursing Award. The awards program is a Hartford initiative aimed at recognizing the leadership of nurse educators working with students, faculty and providers, and older people in diverse settings. “Given the rapidly growing older adult population and the urgent need to prepare the future nurse workforce to care for an aging population, it is imperative to have well-prepared nurse educators not only with knowledge and skills … Continued

Woodley receives 2019 SNRS/NLN Dissertation Research Grant Award

Assistant Professor Lisa Woodley has been named the 2019 recipient of the Southern Nursing Research Society/National League for Nursing Dissertation Research Grant Award for her “outstanding research proposal” entitled “Acculturation into the Profession of Nursing: The Lived Experiences of Hispanic/Latina Baccalaureate Nursing Students.” “This is a wonderful honor and you should feel very proud of yourself,” said NLN Chief Program Officer, Janice Brewington and NLN Research Review Panel Chair Susan Luparell, of Woodley’s selection. Only one such dissertation research grant award is given out each year. The $5,000 award will … Continued

BSN Student Sharpe Receives Class of 1938 Summer Project Abroad Fellowship

Congratulations to Latesha Sharpe who was one of seven undergraduate students to receive a 2019 Class of 1938 Summer Project Abroad Fellowship from UNC Global. Latesha will travel to Tanzania as part of an interprofessional trip providing assessments, health education and treatments to villages in East Africa. Additionally, she will explore the how culture, nutrition and lifestyle affect cardiometabolic health in East African communities and the applicability of this research to African American populations in the United States. Please read the full story here.

Alumni Awards Spotlight: Cindy Bacon

Cindy Bacon, PhD ’12 G.O.L.D. (Graduate of the Last Decade) Dr. Cindy Bacon earned her PhD in Nursing in 2012 from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Nursing. She is currently employed as an Assistant Professor of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) School of Nursing. She has worked in academia for 6 years specializing in nursing leadership and management. Prior to that she was a nurse leader for 25 years in several acute care hospitals in such roles as nurse manager, … Continued

Categories: Alumni, Awards, News

Alumni Awards Spotlight: Jill B. Hamilton

Jill B. Hamilton, BSN ’82, MSN ’89, PhD ’01 Distinguished Alumna Jill Hamilton, R.N., Ph.D. FAAN is Associate Professor at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia.  Dr. Hamilton earned her BSN, MSN, and PhD in nursing from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, a BS in Accounting from North Carolina Central University, and postdoctoral training in the nursing care of older adults at the Oregon Health & Science University. She previously held faculty positions at Johns Hopkins University and the University … Continued

Categories: Alumni, Awards, News

Alumni Awards Spotlight: Beverley Haynes Johnson

Beverley Haynes Johnson, BSN ’64 Carrington Award for Community Service Beverley H. Johnson, FAAN is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Institute for Patient- and Family-Centered Care (IPFCC) in Bethesda, MD. She has provided technical assistance and consultation for advancing the practice of patient- and family-centered care and creating effective partnerships with patients and families to over 300 hospitals, health systems, federal, state, provincial agencies, military treatment facilities, and community organizations. She assists hospitals and ambulatory programs with changing organizational culture, facilitation of visioning retreats, leadership development, and the … Continued

Categories: Alumni, Awards, News

SON honors donors and alumni award recipients at annual brunch

On Saturday, April 6, the UNC School of Nursing Alumni Association (SONAA) and the UNC School of Nursing Foundation hosted a brunch at the Carolina Inn to honor the recipients of the SONAA’s annual alumni awards and to offer thanks to the donors who so generously provide scholarships and other resources to meet the needs and advance the mission of Carolina Nursing. “We are here to celebrate and recognize you, our greatest supporters and advocates,” said Nena Peragallo Montano, DrPH, RN, FAAN, dean and professor, as she addressed the assembled … Continued

Cromeens receives UNC Graduate School Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Kudos to Hillman Scholar Martha Grace Cromeens who has received a Dissertation Completion Fellowship for 2019-2020 from The Graduate School of UNC. The award was made based on the quality of her research and for her progress toward the completion of her PhD. The fellowship will allow her to devote herself full-time to completing her dissertation.

Categories: Awards, News, Students

Stanek Receives Student Undergraduate Teaching Award

Well done to Assistant Professor JoAn Stanek, who has received a 2019 Undergraduate Teaching Award. She will be recognized at a ceremony on Tuesday, April 16th at the Frank Porter Graham Student Union. The Student Undergraduate Teaching Awards were established in 1989 by a student body referendum and the initiation of a special student fee to recognize outstanding undergraduate instruction by both faculty and teaching assistants. In 2004, an addendum to the referendum established a staff award to recognize a staff member’s specific contributions to the undergraduate experience at Carolina. … Continued

Salomon, Sheffield Named STTI Rising Stars

PhD students Karen Sheffield and Becky Salomon have been chosen as Rising Stars of Scholarship and Research and invited to present posters on their dissertation research at Sigma Theta Tau International’s (Sigma) 30th International Nursing Research Congress, 25-29 July 2019, in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Karen’s poster will be entitled “Perspectives of Stress and Self-Care Among Perinatal African American Women: Implications for a Mindfulness-Based Intervention.” Becky’s poster will be entitled “Minimally-Invasive Methods of Examining Biological Changes in Response to Chronic Stress: A Scoping Review.” Congratulations to Karen and Becky!