Sandelowski receives Honorary Fellowship from Royal College of Surgeons, Ireland

Margarete Sandelowski, Boshamer Distinguished Professor Emeritus, was awarded an Honorary Fellowship from the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland in a Conferring Ceremony in Dublin on February 27, 2019. The Faculty awards these Fellowships to candidates in recognition of outstanding work and/or exceptional leadership in the profession of nursing/midwifery or a related science, to those who have given significant service to the profession or to the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery, and to those who have positively influenced health and society.  

Hillman Scholars Spring Achievements

Harry Adynski and advisor Hudson Santos PhD RN recently published Adynski’s undergraduate honors thesis entitled “Predictors of psychological distress in low-income mothers over the first postpartum year” in Research in Nursing and Health. The article is currently available online in early access form and will appear in the June printed issue. Martha Grace Cromeens received an Interdisciplinary Inquiry Grant for her project entitled “Interdisciplinary Training in Qualitative methods for Inquiry into the Pathways of Diagnosis of Endometriosis Cassandra Dictus will be replacing fellow Hillman Scholar Sallie Allgood as a Partnerships in … Continued

Categories: Awards, News, Students

Brooks receives NC TraCS funding

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Jada Brooks, PhD, RN, whose project “Engaging Community Stakeholders in the Formative Stage of Design Culturally-Appropriate Studies Aimed at Promoting Health Equity in American Indian Communities” has received funding from NC TraCS.  

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News, Research

Carlton receives Governors Institute Scholarship

Lynwood Carlton, a student in the Psychiatric-Mental Health graduate program, was a recipient of the Governor’s Institute Scholarship to attend the 2019 Addiction Medicine Conference, which took place March 21-March 23, 2019 in Raleigh, North Carolina. Congratulations Lynwood!

Categories: Awards, Students

Berry to be Inducted into STTI Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Heartfelt congratulations to Assistant Dean for Research and Beerstecher-Blackwell Distinguished Professor Diane Berry, PhD, RN, FAAN who will be inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International’s Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame at the International Nursing Research Conference in Alberta, Canada this July. The International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame was founded in 2010 to recognize nurse researchers who have achieved significant and sustained broad national and international recognition for their work, and whose research has impacted the nursing profession and people it serves. Of the news, Associate Dean for Research and … Continued

Horrell Receives 2019 UNC Graduate School Horizon Award

Hats off to doctoral student, Lindsey Horrell, whose research project, “Enhanced Communications to Reduce Burden of Chronic Disease” was selected to receive a 2019 Horizon Award from The Graduate School at UNC. You can read more about Lindsey’s project in The Graduate School’s announcement here. Horizon Awards recognize outstanding graduate student research that directly contributes to the educational, economic, physical, social or cultural well-being of North Carolina citizens. The recognition comes with a $500 cash award. Horrell will be recognized at The Graduate School’s annual Graduate Student Recognition Celebration on … Continued

Zegre-Hemsey named 2019 UNC Faculty of the Year by UNC Medical Center Nursing Leadership

Sincere congratulations to Assistant Professor Jessica Zegre-Hemsey who received the 2019 Faculty of the Year award by the UNC Medical Center’s nursing leadership last week. Dr. Zegre-Hemsey will be officially recognized during an awards ceremony on May 9, during UNC Hospital’s Nursing Staff Recognition Week. The award capped off a busy week for Dr. Zegre-Hemsey, whose research team conducted test flights of drones carrying AED defibrillators on Carolina’s campus. Local news picked up the story, which can be seen here. Great work, Jessica!

Lanning Receives UNC’s Prestigious Tanner Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

All congratulations to Assistant Professor Rhonda Lanning who is one of five faculty members from across campus to receive the prestigious Tanner Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Students nominate deserving faculty members for the Tanner Awards, which seeks to recognize recipients for their care for students, mentorship and effective use of classroom methods. “These award-winning scholars exemplify the dedication of Carolina faculty members,” said Provost Bob Blouin. “Their work in the classroom and through their research demonstrates dedication and determination to uphold Carolina’s mission of inspiring the next generation … Continued

Inaugural Dhillon’s Gift Recipients Present their Work

Britt Pados, PhD ’15, RN, NNP-BC, and Reina Tan, MD have presented projects that received funding from Dhillon’s Gift, a fund established by Professor Bev Foster in memory of her grandson, Dhillon Jordan Shah, to support students pilot projects aimed at treating or preventing congenital heart defects. Tan presented “Risk Factors and Prevention Strategies aor Cardiac Implantable Electrical Device Infections in Pediatric Patients” at Heart Rhythm Society 39thScientific Sessions this past May in Boston. Additionally, her abstract was published in Heart Rhythm, Vol. 15, No. 5, May Supplement 2018. Assistant … Continued

Kneipp 2018 Recipient of APHA’s Ruth B. Freeman Award

Hats off to Associate Professor Shawn Kneipp who was honored this week with the Ruth B. Freeman Award at the American Public Health Association’s Annual Meeting in San Diego, California. The Ruth B. Freeman Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated a distinguished career in public health administration, education, policy, practice or research. Congratulations and well deserved, Shawn!