Skip to main content

Sharpe mobilizes mobile wellness with Innovate Carolina

Dr. Leslie Sharpe applies lessons from Innovate Carolina to reinvigorate the School’s Mobile Health Clinic. Read more at Innovate Carolina.

Black honored with second AJN Book of the Year award

Congratulations to Beth Black, PhD, RN, FAAN, who has received a second Book of the Year Award from the American Journal of Nursing (AJN). Her newest book, Nursing Concepts and Challenges, 9th edition (Elsevier) won first place in the Professional Issues category. According to Elsevier, the text “helps you gain insight into the current state of the profession and benefit from a thorough examination of standards and scope of practice, with new information on the Affordable Care Act, real-life interview narratives, coverage of social justice in nursing, transition into professional … Continued

Giscombé named ABMR Fellow

Congratulations to Cheryl Giscombé, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC, FAAN, who has been elected as a fellow to the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research. The Academy is the premier honorary scientific organization for scientists working at the interface of behavior and medicine. It is comprised of several hundred eminent senior investigators, all of whom have been elected to membership through a highly selective process. According to their website “The continuing mission of ABMR is to provide a forum for established scientists and thought leaders working in the field of behavioral medicine, where … Continued

Categories: Alumni, Faculty, News

Clinical Instructor Claudia Christy named ACRP Fellow

Congratulations to Claudia Christy, MSN, RN, FACRP, who was recently named a Fellow of the Association of Clinical Research Professionals! According to the ACRP Fellows Advisory Panel and the ACRP Board of Trustees, Claudia’s “qualifications, contributions to the clinical research profession, and enthusiasm for ACRP” were all considered in bestowing the fellowship. Claudia’s dedication to nursing science and education makes her a valuable asset to our school and students, and we are proud to see this recognized by the ACRP!    

Categories: Awards, Faculty, News

Woodley receives Chapman Family Teaching Award

Congratulations to Associate Professor Lisa Woodley, who has received the 2021 Chapman Family Teaching Award! This is an incredible honor for Lisa and our School — rarely in the history of the award has it gone to someone outside of the College of Arts & Sciences. Established in 1993, the Chapman Award honors distinguished teaching of undergraduate students, and to be eligible for the award, a nominee must have five years of teaching experience at UNC. As a Chapman awardee, Lisa will receive $30,000 that must be spent within a … Continued

Brooks and Williams complete Thorpe Scholars program

Congratulations to Dr. Jada Brooks and Dr. Jessica Williams, who have completed the two-year Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars (FES) program! On December 11th, the Carolina Center for Public Service celebrated the achievements of the the 7th cohort of scholars. The FES program brings together selected faculty from across campus to engage in a two-year experiential, competency-based curriculum designed to advance their engaged scholarship. Scholars participate in sessions in community settings to learn from Carolina faculty and their community partners. While developing individual projects, each class of scholars forms a learning … Continued

Stanek and Walters selected as Anne Belcher Interprofessional Scholars

Congratulations to Assistant Professor JoAn Stanek, DNP, RN, ANP-BC and Clinical Assistant Professor Elizabeth Walters, DNP, RN, PNP, who have been selected as the second cohort of Anne Belcher Interprofessional Faculty Scholars. Last year, the Anne Belcher Interprofessional Faculty Scholars Program for Nursing was created with a generous gift from Anne Belcher, MN, PhD, (BSN ’67), ANEF, FAAN, to provide opportunities for selected faculty in the UNC School of Nursing to shape the world of interprofessional education (IPE) and to create the scholarly work others will look to as evidence for the … Continued

Kelly receives Susan Peck Excellence in Nursing Award

Congratulations to associate professor Maureen Kelly, DNP, CPNP, who has received the Susan Peck Excellence in Nursing Award, presented at the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (NASPGHAN) annual meeting! Maureen was selected for this award as “well-deserved recognition of her efforts in advancing the care of children with IBD at a local and national level.” In addition to teaching, she is currently a PNP in the Pediatric Division of Gastroenterology at UNC Health.

Alexander receives Vanderbilt Alumni Award for Diversity and Inclusion

Congratulations to Clinical Professor Rumay Alexander who has received the Vanderbilt Alumni Award for Diversity and Inclusion for her continued dedication to equity in nursing! via the Vanderbilt School of Nursing:  Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN, professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Nursing; special assistant to the dean for the UNC-CH Adams School of Dentistry; and former UNC-CH associate vice-chancellor for diversity and inclusion/chief diversity officer, has been honored by Vanderbilt University School of Nursing with the school’s Alumni Award for Diversity and Inclusion. … Continued

Giscombé selected for Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research Fellowship

Congratulations to Cheryl Giscombé, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC, who has recently been elected as an Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research Fellow! Fellows of the Academy (ABMR) are elected by the Membership Committee after being nominated by two Academy Fellows. The primary criteria for ABMR membership are high levels of productivity, excellence and broad recognition for their accomplishments. In selecting fellows the Academy is pursuing its mission to “advance the field of behavioral medicine by creating and disseminating knowledge, cultivating discourse, and inspiring change that culminates in better health for all.” ABMR … Continued