Brooks, Toles, Wu and Zomorodi elected fellows in the American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing announced on Tuesday its selection of 231 highly distinguished nurse leaders for its 2019 class of Academy fellows, four of whom are UNC School of Nursing faculty! We are delighted to congratulate Drs. Jada Brooks, Mark Toles, Jia-Rong Wu and Meg Zomorodi on this significant achievement! New alumni fellows include Jinbing Bai, PhD ’16, RN, Emory University, June I. Cho, PhD ’05, RN, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and Lisa C. Lindley, PhD ’11, RN, FCPN, University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Selection criteria for fellowship include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and … Continued

Fleming appointed Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Division and Program

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Louise Fleming who will become our assistant dean for the undergraduate division and programs effective January 1, 2020. We are delighted and thankful to have Louise’s dedication, knowledge and talents brought to bear for the students and faculty of our oldest academic program. And we remain grateful to Dr. Anita Tesh who currently serves as assistant dean for the UG programs for giving us the time to ensure a seamless transition in leadership in advance of her retirement at the end of 2019. Thanks for your service, … Continued

Belcher’s passion for nurse education comes through in new fund

Anne Belcher, MN, PhD, (BSN ’67), ANEF, FAAN is passionate about nursing education – not only to prepare the next generation of nurses, but also to enhance the skills of today’s leading nurse faculty. By creating the Anne Belcher Interprofessional Faculty Scholars Fund, she is generously providing opportunities for faculty in the UNC School of Nursing to shape the world of interprofessional education (IPE) and create the scholarly work others will look to as evidence for the power of IPE in the future. “I have always thought it makes good … Continued

L. Beeber featured on Focus Carolina

Assistant Dean and Professor Linda Beeber was featured on this week’s episode of Focus Carolina discussing her work to create home-based mental health care to reduce depression in high-risk populations of mothers with infants and toddlers, and help them bond with their babies. Listen to the full episode here:

Fleming to serve on UNC Fixed Term Faculty Committee

Assistant Professor Louise Fleming will be serving a two-year term on the Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty beginning July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2021. She was highly recommended for this role by the UNC Faculty Nominating Committee. The Committee on Fixed-Term Faculty consists of nine members of the voting faculty appointed by the chair of the faculty. Seven of the members are fixed-term, and two are tenured. The committee addresses concerns and makes policy recommendations on matters specific to fixed-term faculty members, including, but not limited to, working conditions, status, and … Continued

SON presents to UNC Trustees

On Thursday, May 30th, Dean Nena Peragallo Montano was joined by students Becky Fitzula, a Hillman Scholar and recent BSN graduate, and Karen Sheffield, a doctoral candidate and T32 Fellow, to present to the UNC Board of Trustees about the work and service taking place by the state’s flagship school of nursing. Read more about their presentation on

Sharpe elected to represent NC in 2019 AANP Election

Congratulations to Instructor Leslie Sharpe, DNP, FNP-BC, who was elected to represent North Carolina on the board of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners in April 2019. Her term will begin at the close of the 2019 AANP national conference in June. Well done, Leslie!  

Newly appointed to the membership of the North Carolina Institute of Medicine

Morrisville– Meg Zomorodi PhD, RN, CNL has been selected by the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Institute of Medicine to the prestigious honor of membership. Dr. Zomorodi joins over 150 leaders in health, medicine, and policy across North Carolina to receive this honor and partner with the North Carolina Institute of Medicine (NCIOM) to advance health policy for a healthier state. As the Assistant Provost and Director for the Office of Interprofessional Education and Practice at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Dr. Zomorodi works with … Continued

Stanek Receives Student Undergraduate Teaching Award

Well done to Assistant Professor JoAn Stanek, who has received a 2019 Undergraduate Teaching Award. She will be recognized at a ceremony on Tuesday, April 16th at the Frank Porter Graham Student Union. The Student Undergraduate Teaching Awards were established in 1989 by a student body referendum and the initiation of a special student fee to recognize outstanding undergraduate instruction by both faculty and teaching assistants. In 2004, an addendum to the referendum established a staff award to recognize a staff member’s specific contributions to the undergraduate experience at Carolina. … Continued

Oppewal Receives Provost Engaged Scholarship Award

Hats off to Professor Sonda Oppewal, who was awarded a 2019 Office of the Provost Engaged Scholarship Award for her work in promoting community partnerships over the past seventeen years. These partnerships include the Orange County Board of Aging to help the Adult Day Center in Hillsborough achieve certification by contracting to provide RN Health Care Coordinator services, Orange County with its annual Project Homeless Connect, and disaster relief partnerships in Biloxi, Mississippi and Tyrrell County, North Carolina. This award recognizes UNC-Chapel Hill faculty and organizations that have performed extraordinary … Continued