UNC features new BBL Director, Dr. Patricia Silveyra

This fall, associate professor and Beerstecher-Blackwell Distinguished Term Scholar Dr. Patricia Silveyra was appointed director of the Biobehavioral Lab. It’s been a busy semester for Dr. Silveyra and her team — they welcomed another new team member, research specialist Dr. Chongben Zhang, and launched a new website for the lab. Silveyra joined the SON from Penn State University, where she started her career as basic and translational science researcher. Silveyra received her Master’s degree in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology and her PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Buenos Aires, Argentina, followed … Continued

Brooks featured on NIMHD Site

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Jada Brooks, PhD, MSPH, RN, whose research on environmental and mental health effects on heart health in women is the feature story on the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities website. Check out the feature here. Way to go, Dr. Brooks!

Ariel Adams Named 2019 NC State McLauchlan Fellow

Kudos to UNCSON Center for Lifelong Learning Business Officer Ariel Adams who was recently selected as a McLauchlan Leadership Fellow of the NC State Jenkins MBA program. As a McLauchlan Fellow, Adams will complete the program’s premier leadership development program, the McLauchlan Leadership Series, and have opportunities to build networks, receive executive coaching and master the fundamentals of personal, team and organizational leadership through the two-day sessions led by NC State faculty and selected experts. Congratulations on this great recognition and opportunity, Ariel!

Categories: Leadership, News, Staff

Khairat Named AMIA Fellow

Well done to Assistant Professor Saif Khairat who was recently named to the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA). Established in May 2018, the FAMIA program is meant to recognize AMIA members who apply informatics skills and knowledge within their professional setting, who have demonstrated professional achievement and leadership, and who have contributed to the betterment of the organization. Dr. Khairat will be formally inducted at the AMIA 2019 Clinical Informatics Conference in Atlanta, GA, in late April 2019.

Rodgers Appointed to AACN Diversity, Education and Inclusion Group

Assistant Dean for Inclusive Excellence Shielda Rodgers has been appointed to the Diversity, Education and Inclusion Group (DEIG) of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN). She was selected for this role by Dean Peragallo-Montano. The goal of the DEIG is to align its efforts with the strategic diversity goals and objectives of AACN and the larger nursing community. The DEIG expects to achieve this goal through the execution of the following objectives: 1. Serve as a convening body to unite expertise, experience, and guidance for academic nursing in … Continued

Tesh Featured Speaker on Association of American Colleges and Universities Webinar

Our thanks to Assistant Dean and Professor Anita Tesh, who represented the School of Nursing this week on a webinar provided by the Association of American Colleges and Universities on Civic Prompts in the Major: Disciplinary Knowledge, Democratic Culture, and the Public Good. Dr. Tesh served as one of three presenters on the webinar in which she shared the SON’s curriculum revision work and new Carolina Core tenets to more than 300 participants. Well done, Dr. Tesh!

Horoho Receives AACN McGovern Award

Congratulations to SON alumna Lt. General (ret) Patricia “Patty” D. Horoho, BSN ’82, who received the John A. McGovern Invitational Lectureship Award earlier this week from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing at their semi-annual Academic Nursing Leadership Conference. This award honors John P. McGovern for his noted clinical practice and research, and distinguished record of scholarship, skill, and service. Award recipients are chosen by the AACN Board of Directors on the basis of their scholarship and the notability of their contributions to nursing, health care, or higher education. … Continued

Giscombe Named Inaugural Art Museum-based Health Professions Education Fellow

Congratulations to LeVine Family Professor Cheryl Giscombe, PhD, RN, PMHNP, FAAN who has been selected for the inaugural class of Art Museum-based Health Professions Education Fellows through the Harvard Macy Institute. Dr. Giscombe was a member of the 2015 Class of Macy Faculty Scholars. The Cambridge Health Alliance Center for Professional and Academic Development and the Harvard Macy Institute designed the fellowship, which is a longitudinal fellowship for health professions educators in museum-based health professions education. The Fellowship is offered in conjunction with the Harvard Medical School Arts and Humanities … Continued

Zomorodi Selected as AIHC Mentee

Associate Professor and Assistant Provost for Interprofessional Education and Practice Meg Zomorodi PhD, RN, CNL has been selected as part of the 2018-2019 American Interprofessional Health Collaborative (AIHC)-National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education mentoring program. Meg will be paired with Dr. Mary Mauldin EdD from Medical University of South Carolina’s Office of Interprofessional Education and Practice and will participate in a year-long program that will pair her with experts to strategically design the newly established Office of Interprofessional Education and Practice at UNC-CH.

Wilmoth Begins Tenure on AAN Nominating Committee

Congratulations to Executive Dean Peggy Wilmoth, who is currently serving at her first meeting of the American Academy of Nursing’s Nominating Committee as part of the AAN’s 2018 Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference in Washington, DC. Dr. Wilmoth was elected to the committee in September 2018.