Four SON faculty members — Marianne Cockroft, Jean Davison, Shawn Kneipp, and Sonda Oppewal — have been named Distinguished Public Health Nurses in North Carolina.  They are among 100 recipients selected by a review committee of Public Health Nursing (PHN) peers from across the state to receive the 100 Distinguished Public Health Nurses in NC award.

“Being selected is a tremendous distinction and demonstrates that you stand out as a leader in our nursing specialty, ” wrote the PHN selection committee, congratulating each recipient on this well-deserved recognition.

A listing of all award recipients is available on the N.C. Public Health Nursing Community Facebook page, and an awards luncheon will be held on Tuesday, September 24th at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro to honor the recipients.

Congratulations, Drs. Cockroft, Davison, Kneipp, and Oppewal! Thank you for all you do to serve the citizens of this state.


Say hello to North Carolina's 100 Distinguished Public Health Nurses!*Myra Allen NC DHHS DPH CD BranchMary Backlund…

Posted by NC Public Health Nursing Community on Monday, August 5, 2019

Categories: Awards, Faculty, Homepage News, News, Service
Comments are closed.