Adjunct Faculty Member and Honorary Alum Grant Named President of ANA

Tremendous congratulations to Ernest Grant, PhD, RN, FAAN on being elected president of the American Nurses Association (ANA) this weekend. His term will begin January 1, 2019.

An adjunct faculty member and honorary alumnus of Carolina Nursing, Dr. Grant is the burn outreach coordinator for the North Carolina Jaycees Burn Center at UNC Hospitals and is an internationally known expert in burn care and fire safety education. He currently serves as vice president of the ANA and is a past-president of the North Carolina Nurses Association.

“We couldn’t be more proud and grateful for our association with Dr. Grant,” said Nena Peragallo Montano, dean of the UNC School of Nursing. “His contributions in our classrooms and clinics matches that of his sterling contributions to his patients in the burn center as well as to the larger profession. Ernie brings excellence and thoughtful attention to whatever he undertakes, whether he is teaching our students, administering hands-on care to suffering patients, or leading one of nursing’s foremost professional associations. The ANA simply couldn’t be in better hands and we are delighted by this news.”

The ANA’s press release on Dr. Grant’s election follows below.

American Nurses Association Elects Ernest Grant as Next President

Jun 23th 2018

Shannon McClendon, 301-628-5391

Joan Hurwitz, 301-628-5020

Silver Spring, MD – Today, the American Nurses Association (ANA) Membership Assembly elected Ernest Grant, PhD, RN, FAAN, of the North Carolina Nurses Association as the association’s next president to represent the interests of the nation’s 4 million registered nurses. The term of service for Dr. Grant and other newly elected leaders will begin January 1, 2019.

Dr. Grant, the current ANA vice president, is an internationally recognized burn care and fire safety expert and oversees the nationally acclaimed North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center at the University of North Carolina (UNC) Hospitals in Chapel Hill. He also serves as adjunct faculty for the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Nursing, where he works with undergraduate and graduate nursing students in the classroom and clinical settings.

ANA’s Membership Assembly also elected four other members to serve on the 9-member board of directors. The newly-elected board members are: Secretary Stephanie Pierce, PhD, MN, RN, CNE, of the Louisiana State Nurses Association; Director-at-Large Tonisha Melvin, DNP, CRRN, NP-C, of the Georgia Nurses Association; Director-at-Large Varsha Singh, MSN, APN, of the New Jersey State Nurses Association; Director-at-Large Staff Nurse Jennifer Gil, RN, BSN, of ANA Massachusetts.

The following ANA board members will continue their term in 2019: Treasurer Jennifer Mensik, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, of the Oregon Nurses Association; Director-at-Large MaryLee Pakieser, MSN, RN, BC-FNP, of ANA Michigan; Director-at-Large, Recent Graduate, Amanda Buechel, BSN, RN, of ANA-Illinois.

Elected to serve on the Nominations and Elections Committee are: Bonita Ball, MSN, RN, CCRN-K, NE-BC, of the Delaware Nurses Association; Rebecca Huie, DNP, RN, ACNP, of the Alabama State Nurses Association; Heidi Sanborn, MSN, RN, CNE, of the Arizona Nurses Association.

For high resolution images of the ANA logo or photos of ANA leadership, please click here.

# # #

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation’s 4 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. For more information, visit