Baker Selected to Participate in Inaugural AACN-Apple Digital Innovation Bootcamp

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Maureen Baker, PhD, RN, who was selected to be among 30 nursing faculty nationwide to participate in the American Academy of Colleges of Nursing’s Inaugural Digital Innovation Bootcamp to be held at the Austin Apple Campus in Austin, Texas July 9-12.

In keeping with association’s strategic goal to serve as the driving force for innovation and excellence in academic nursing, AACN launched this initiative to provide new opportunities for nursing faculty to leverage the latest technology to enhance learning in the classroom, laboratory, and clinical settings. Those invited to participate in this groundbreaking event will enjoy sessions on creating digital content, developing iOS mobile apps and multi-touch books, and creating an engaging learning environment.

“AACN applauds the incoming class of Digital Bootcamp participants for their innovative ideas and commitment to enhancing the educational experience for today’s nursing student,” said Dr. Ann Cary, Chair of the AACN Board of Directors. Following a competitive application process that was completed by more than 150 nursing faculty and staff, the following individuals were selected to attend the bootcamp:


Michael Ackerman, The Ohio State University
Maureen Baker, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Kimberly Belcik, Texas State University
Jaime Brantley, Oklahoma Baptist University
Patricia Brennan, Samuel Merritt University (CA)
Maria Flavin, Carlow University (PA)
Melissa Foster, University of Alabama in Huntsville
Jeffrey Fouche-Camargo, Georgia Gwinnett College
Janis Guilbeau, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Elizabeth Heavey, State University of New York College at Brockport
Tyler Keenum, The University of Alabama
Lorretta Krautscheid, University of Portland
Delaney La Rosa, Chamberlain University (FL)
Barbara Medvec, University of Michigan
Lisa Merritt, University of Missouri-St. Louis
Jeanne Moore, The Catholic University of America (DC)
Christine Mullins, East Tennessee State University
Rebecca Newton, University of Southern Mississippi
Courtney Nyange, Tennessee State University
Karrie Osborne, Ball State University (IN)
Nicole Osier, University of Texas at Austin
Cynthia O’Sullivan, Southern Connecticut State University
Cheryl Parker, The University of Texas at Tyler
Patricia Richard, University of Texas Medical Branch
Teresa Serratt, Boise State University (ID)
Lisa Shustack, Misericordia University (PA)
Leiana Smith, Bellevue College (WA)
Anita Stephen, University of Florida
Ivy Tuason, Western University of Health Sciences (CA)
Cheryl Tucker, Baylor University (TX)

Program participants come from 20 states plus the District of Columbia and represent an array of institution types, including small liberal arts programs, public and private schools, and large academic health centers. Baker and her fellow participants will share details about their individual projects produced as part of this immersion experience at an upcoming AACN conference, which may include one of the following:

Faculty Development Conference – November 14-15 | New Orleans, LA
Baccalaureate Education Conference – November 15-17 | New Orleans, LA
Doctoral Education Conference – January 17-19 | Coronado, CA
Master’s Education Conference – February 21-23 | Tampa, FL