Bryant and Soltis-Jarrett elected fellows in American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) has announced the 2020 class of fellows, including SON faculty members Ashley Leak Bryant, PhD, RN-BC, OCN, FAAN and Victoria-Soltis Jarrett, PhD, PMHCNS/NP-BC, FAAN!

New alumni fellows include Sharon Lock, BSN ’75 PhD, APRN, Pamela Lusk, MSN ’78, DNP, RN, PMHNP-BC, FAANP, FNAP, and AnnMarie Walton, BSN ’03, PhD, MPH, RN, OCN, CHES.

In the AAN press release, Academy President Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN lauded the achievements of the new fellows: “I am honored to welcome this exceptional class to the American Academy of Nursing. Their work, across many fields of expertise, exemplifies the power of nursing knowledge in creating meaningful change. As a policy organization, we strive to improve health and achieve health equity through nursing leadership, innovation, and science. Growing the Academy’s Fellowship bolsters our collective strength and further enables us to meet our policy priorities. Now, more than ever, our collaboration is critical and I am excited to congratulate this dynamic class of Fellows during the International Year of the Nurse and the Midwife.”

Selection criteria for fellowship include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current Academy fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all.

The Class of 2020 joins the following impressive list of Carolina Nursing faculty and faculty emerita Fellows. We congratulate them all once again!

G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN
Ruth Anderson, PhD, RN, FAAN
Marianne Baernholdt, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
Anna Beeber, PhD, RN, FAAN
Linda Beeber, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN**
Diane Berry, PhD, ANP-BC, FAANP, FAAN
Beth Black, PhD, RN, FAAN
Jada Brooks, PhD, MPSH, RN, FAAN
Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN+*
Carol Durham, EdD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Cynthia Freund, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Sandra G. Funk, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Cheryl Giscombe, PhD, PMHNP-BC, FAAN
Joanne Harrell, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Eric Hodges, PhD, FNP-BC, FAAN
Cheryl Jones, PhD, RN, FAAN
Kathleen Knafl, PhD, FAAN+
Barbara Mark, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Deborah K. Mayer, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN
Margaret Miles, PhD, RN, FAAN+*
Mary H. Palmer, PhD, RN, AGSF, FAAN,
Nena Peragallo Montano, DrPH, RN, FAAN
Margarete Sandelowski, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Lixin Song, PhD, RN, FAAN
Suzanne Thoyre, PhD, RN, FAAN
Mark Toles, PhD, RN, FAAN
Marcia Van Riper, PhD, RN, FAAN
Julee Waldrop, PhD, RN, FAAN
Margaret “Peggy” Wilmoth, PhD, RN, FAAN
SeonAe Yeo, PhD, RNC, WHNP, FAAN
Meg Zomorodi, PhD, RN, CNL, FAAN
+Emerita Faculty
*Living Legend
**Edge Runner