Carolina Nursing faculty selected for 2022-2024 CFE Leadership Fundamentals Cohort

The School of Nursing is proud to announce that three of its assistant professors, Brandi Apple, PhD, RN, CNOR, CNE, Beth Cosgrove, PhD, CPNP-PC, RN, and Nancy Jo Thompson, DNP, MSN-Ed, RN-BC, have been selected to participate in the 2023-2024 Leadership Fundamentals Cohort hosted by the UNC Center for Faculty Excellence (CFE). 

The Leadership Fundamentals Cohort is a year-long program designed to cultivate leadership excellence among academic professionals. It focuses on leadership assessments, key topics, concepts, and models, and the development of specific skills through small group mentoring and coaching sessions.  

Apple, Cosgrove, and Thompson will spend the academic year collaborating with an interdisciplinary cohort from across the campus to explore a range of critical topics, including emotional intelligence and leadership in higher education, equity, diversity, and inclusion in higher education leadership, and strategies for building or renovating academic teams.  

Thompson emphasizes the importance of interdisciplinary collaboration, saying, “Leadership Fundamentals provides a space for faculty to increase leadership skills while gaining new perspectives from interdisciplinary colleagues across the UNC campus, especially with respect to leading diverse teams.” 

“The Leadership Fundamentals program is an opportunity to work with faculty across campus to build leadership skills that uphold the core values and mission here at UNC,” said Cosgrove, further emphasizing the program’s significance. 

This opportunity welcomes individuals at every career stage, embracing aspiring leaders, newcomers, and seasoned professionals alike. Apple explains, “The CFE Leadership Fundamental program assists upcoming leaders in cultivating relationships and equips us to drive innovative changes, ensuring we adapt to the ever-evolving academic landscape.” 

For more information about the Leadership Fundamentals Cohort and the UNC Center for Faculty Excellence, please visit