Brooks, Toles, Wu and Zomorodi elected fellows in the American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing announced on Tuesday its selection of 231 highly distinguished nurse leaders for its 2019 class of Academy fellows, four of whom are UNC School of Nursing faculty! We are delighted to congratulate Drs. Jada Brooks, Mark Toles, Jia-Rong Wu and Meg Zomorodi on this significant achievement!

New alumni fellows include Jinbing Bai, PhD ’16, RN, Emory University, June I. Cho, PhD ’05, RN, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and Lisa C. Lindley, PhD ’11, RN, FCPN, University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Selection criteria for fellowship include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current Academy fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all.

The Class of 2019 joins the following impressive list of Carolina Nursing faculty and faculty emerita Fellows. We congratulate them all once again!

G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN
Ruth Anderson, PhD, RN, FAAN
Anna Beeber, PhD, RN, FAAN
Linda Beeber, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN**
Diane Berry, PhD, ANP-BC, FAANP, FAAN
Beth Black, PhD, RN, FAAN
Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN*
Carol Durham, EdD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Cathie Fogel, PhD, RN, FAAN
Cindy Freund, PhD, RN, FAAN
Barbara Germino, PhD, RN, FAAN
Cheryl Giscombe, PhD, RN, PMHNP-BC, FAAN
JoAnne Harrell, PhD, RN, FAAN
Donna Sullivan Havens, PhD, RN, FAAN
Eric Hodges, PhD, FNP-BC, FAAN
Cheryl Jones, PhD, RN, FAAN
Kathleen Knafl, PhD, FAAN
Barbara Mark, PhD, RN, FAAN
Deborah K. Mayer, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN
Margaret Miles, PhD, RN, FAAN*
Merle Mishel, PhD, RN, FAAN
Mary H. Palmer, PhD, RN, AGSF, FAAN,
Nilda (Nena) Peragallo Montano, DrPH, RN, FAAN
Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN
Suzanne Thoyre, PhD, RN, FAAN
Marcia Van Riper, PhD, RN, FAAN
Margarete Sandelowski, PhD, RN, FAAN
Lixin Song, PhD, RN, FAAN
Julee Waldrop, PhD, RN, FAAN
Margaret “Peggy” Wilmoth, PhD, RN, FAAN
SeonAe Yeo, PhD, RNC, WHNP, FAAN

*Living Legend
**Edge Runner