Jean Davison named American Academy of Nursing Fellow

The American Academy of Nursing announced its selection of 197 highly distinguished nurse leaders for its 2024 class of Academy Fellows. We are delighted to congratulate Jean A. Davison, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, on this significant achievement!

Davison has made profound contributions to the nursing practice, education and service over the course of her career. Her work, which spans disciplines, communities, and geographical locations, focuses on rural, vulnerable, and historically marginalized populations.

Davison has significantly improved health outcomes through her leadership and dedication. As the director and lead family nurse practitioner for the UNC Mobile Health Clinic, Davison provides immersive practice experiences for students across various disciplines, including nursing, social work, nutrition, pharmacy, medicine, dentistry, public health, and humanities. Under her leadership, the clinic has been recognized by the National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics with a “gold rating” for its high-quality care.

In addition to her local efforts, Davison is the co-founder and President of Compassion Med International, a nonprofit organization with an all-volunteer staff that conducts short-term medical missions to under-resourced countries. Her leadership has been pivotal in responding to disasters such as Hurricane Katrina and Hurricane Matthew and in providing aid to countries like Honduras, Nicaragua, Romania, and Ukraine.

Davison’s commitment and dedication to improving the educational experiences of various disciplines through local and global learning have been exemplary. “Through her leadership, our University, School of Nursing, and community have been positively impacted by Dr. Davison’s significant contributions,” said senior associate dean for global initiatives, Ashley Leak Bryant, PhD, RN, OCN, FAAN.

In the AAN press release, Academy President Linda D. Scott, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FNAP, FAAN, commended the remarkable impact these nursing leaders have on public health. “I am thrilled to welcome these impressive nurse leaders into our organization. With exceptional subject matter expertise, each new Fellow will be vital to achieve the Academy’s mission of improving health and achieving health equity by impacting policy through nursing leadership, innovation, and science.”

“Induction into the Academy represents the highest honor in nursing. Earning the FAAN (Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing) credential is a significant recognition of one’s accomplishments and signifies the future impact they will make in collaboration with their colleagues in the Academy.”

Academy President Linda D. Scott, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FNAP, FAAN

Carolina Nursing alumni selected as Fellows this year include:

The inductees will be recognized for their substantial and sustained impact on health and health care at the Academy’s annual Health Policy Conference, which will take place from October 31 to November 2, 2024, in Washington, DC. This year’s conference theme is “Courageous Transformations Towards an Equitable Future.”

Jean joins the following impressive list of Carolina Nursing faculty Fellows:

Carolina Nursing Fellows

G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN
Ruth Anderson, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Linda Beeber, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN+**
Beth Perry Black, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Jada Brooks, PhD, MPSH, RN, FAAN
Ashley Leak Bryant, PhD, RN-BC, OCN, FAAN
Yamnia Cortés, PhD, MPH, FNP-BD, FAHA
Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN+*
Leslie Davis, PhD, ANP-BC, FAAN
Carol Durham, EdD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Louise Fleming, PhD, MSN-Ed, RN, FAAN
Cynthia Freund, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Sandra G. Funk, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Cheryl Giscombe, PhD, PMHNP-BC, FAAN
Jean Goeppinger, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Edward Halloran, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Joanne Harrell, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Donna Havens, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Rachel Hirschey, PhD, RN, FAAN
Eric Hodges, PhD, FNP-BC, FAAN
Valerie Howard, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN
Cheryl Jones, PhD, RN, FAAN
Kathleen Knafl, PhD, FAAN+
Barbara Mark, PhD, RN, FAAN+

Deborah K. Mayer, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN+
Margaret Miles, PhD, RN, FAAN+*
Mary H. Palmer, PhD, RN, AGSF, FAAN+
Nena Peragallo Montano, DrPH, RN, FAAN+
Natalia Villegas Rodriguez, PhD, MSN, RN, IBCLC, FAAN
Margarete Sandelowski, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Sheila Santacroce, PhD, RN, CPNP, FAAN
Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN+
Victoria Soltis-Jarrett, PHD, PMHCNS/NP-BC,
Lixin Song, PhD, RN, FAAN
Suzanne Thoyre, PhD, RN, FAAN
Mark Toles, PhD, RN, FAAN
Marcia Van Riper, PhD, RN, FAAN
Jessica Williams, PhD, MPH, PHNA-BC, FAAN
Margaret Wilmoth, PhD, MSS, RN, FAAN
Rose Mary Xavier, PhD, MS, RN, PMHNP-BC
SeonAe Yeo, PhD, RNC, WHNP, FAAN
Meg Zomorodi, PhD, RN, CNL, FAAN

+Emerita Faculty
*Living Legend
**Edge Runner