Linda Cronenwett Receives AAN President’s Award

During the 2013 meeting of the American Academy of Nurses (AAN), Beerstecher-Blackwell Term Professor and former Dean Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN was honored with the AAN President’s Award. The President’s Award is given to “one who exemplifies extraordinary contributions to improving the quality and safety of health care for all.”

Dr. Cronenwett’s extraordinary contributions include serving as the co-director of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Executive Nurse Fellows program. She is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation and the North Carolina Institute of Medicine, and Chairs the board of the North Carolina Quality Center. Dr. Cronenwett has served many other professional organizations in leadership roles, including the AAN and the American Association’s Congress of Nursing Practice.

While Dean of the SON, Dr. Cronenwett served as principal investigator of Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) for seven years. Under her leadership, the project received four phases of funding from RWJF and led to the production of an award-winning book edited by Associate Dean Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN, and Professor Jane H. Barnsteiner, PhD, FAAN.

Her academic career includes more than 80 journal articles and book chapters. Dr. Cronenwett has also sat on the editorial advisory boards for Applied Nursing Research, Online Journal of Knowledge Synthesis for Nursing, Journal of Nursing Measurement, and the Joint Commission Journal of Quality Improvement.

Among her numerous honors, Dr. Cronenwett has been elected a fellow of AAN, the National Academies of Practice, and the North Carolina Institute of Medicine. She has received the Dorothy Garrigus Adams Founders’ Award for Fostering Professional Standards, Sigma Theta Tau International (2009), the Jessie Scott Award for Advancing Nursing Practice, Education and Research, American Nurses Association (2012), and the 25th Anniversary Sustained Influential Leader Award, Eastern Nursing Research Society (2013).