Nursing students honored in Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony

Two UNC nursing students were recently recognized for their dedication and excellent academic performance in the Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony.

The ceremony, held annually in the spring, is the only campus-wide student recognition program at Carolina. This year, a total of 71 students from schools and academic departments across UNC were honored with the University’s most prestigious awards for academic achievement and leadership.

BSN Class of 1956 Livas Award

This award recognizes the most outstanding senior in the School of Nursing and was established by friends of George Livas, including members of the BSN class of 1956, who recently endowed the fund. The recipient, chosen by the faculty of the School, is the member of the senior class who best demonstrates scholarship, leadership, and nursing excellence. The distinction was first awarded in 1980.

2015 winner: Claire Vita Clement of Cary, NC; class of ’15, Bachelor of Science in Nursing

See recipients from past years

James M. Johnston Distinguished Senior Award In the Nursing Program

This award, established in 1975, recognizes the senior student in the Johnston Nursing Awards Program who is most deserving of recognition for outstanding academic achievement and for leadership contributions in the School of Nursing and the Johnston Awards Program. A monetary prize is given by the James M. Johnston Trustees.

2015 winner: Emily Catherine Morgan of Raleigh, NC; class of ‘15, Bachelor of Science in Nursing

See recipients from past years

Chancellor Carol L. Folt presided at the annual Chancellor’s Awards ceremony. Executive Vice Provost Ron Strauss, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Winston Crisp, and 2014-15 student body president Andrew Powell presented academic, student leadership activities, and student-selected undergraduate teaching and staff awards.

“Awards that reward excellence honor individuals today and also foster excellence for future classes and generations,” said Chancellor Folt. “Carolina is grateful to the 2015 Chancellor’s Awards recipients for their extraordinary contributions to our university and for the example they set for students and staff who will follow in their footsteps.”

See full list of 2015 honorees

Pictured are Claire Clement (left), winner of the Class of ’56 George Livas Award and Emily Morgan (right), James M. Johnston Distinguished Senior.