Oppewal, Soltis-Jarrett Receive 2018 NLN Awards

A big round of applause for Associate Professor Sonda Oppewal and Carol Morde Ross Distinguished Professor Victoria Soltis-Jarrett. It was announced yesterday that both are recipients of prestigious National League for Nursing Awards for 2018!

The NLN presents three awards each year to acknowledge individuals and organizations of prominence within nursing education and the wider stage of American health care, and Carolina Nursing is thrilled to be home for two of them!

Dr. Oppewal was named the NLN Lillian Wald Humanitarian Award winner. Lillian D. Wald was a nurse; social worker; public health official; teacher; author; editor; publisher; activist for peace, women’s, children’s, and civil rights; and the founder and first president of the National Organization for Public Health Nursing. Her unselfish devotion to humanity is recognized around the world and her visionary programs have been widely copied. Criteria for the award includes:

Dr. Soltis-Jarrett was named the recipient of the NLN Isabel Hampton Robb Award for Outstanding Leadership in Clinical Practice. Isabel Adams Hampton was the head of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, wrote several influential textbooks, and helped to found the organizations that became known as the National League for Nursing, the International Council of Nurses, and the American Nurses Association. Criteria for the award includes:

Our sincere congratulations on these well-deserved recognitions!

The NLN’s official press release can be found below.

August 21, 2018
For Immediate Release Contact: Jane Calem Rosen
201-906-7339; janeruth515@gmail.com
National League for Nursing Announces
NLN Award Winners

Celebration of NLN’s Highest Honors Will Take Place at 2018 Education Summit in Chicago

Washington, DC, August 21, 2018 — The NLN Awards, named for three luminaries in nursing education, are to be presented at the NLN’s 2018 Education Summit in Chicago. Selected by the NLN Awards Committee, the awardees will be recognized during a special Honors Convocation on Friday, September 14, 2018. The NLN Awards acknowledge individuals and organizations of prominence within nursing education and the wider stage of American health care.


Victoria Soltis-Jarrett, PhD, PMHCNS/NP-BC, FAANP — Carol Morde Ross Distinguished Professor Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, School of NursingDr. Soltis-Jarrett is the Carol Morde Ross Distinguished Professor of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing at The UNC-Chapel Hill School of Nursing in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. She has demonstrated leadership in nursing education, clinical practice and scholarship for over 30 years and has developed a robust and sustainable program of nursing scholarship that focuses on advancing the role of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioners (PMHNP). She has been awarded over $7 million in federal, state and regional funding to increase access to quality mental health services by recruiting, educating and placing PMHNPs in underserved, rural, and remote regions in North Carolina where there are gaps in specialty psychiatric services.


Greer Glazer, PhD, RN, CNP, FAAN — Dean, University of Cincinnati College of Nursing and Schmidlapp Professor of Nursing

Greer Glazer is dean of the College of Nursing and associate vice president for Health Affairs at the University of Cincinnati. A nationally recognized leader in nursing education, Dr. Glazer has a strong history of developing community, national and international partnerships, and securing federal funding for nursing research, scholarship, and program implementation. In recognition for her work as researcher, educator, and health care leader, Dr. Glazer has received significant honors and awards.


Sonda Oppewal, PhD, RN, APHN-BC — Associate Professor Public Health and Community Practice, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill School of Nursing

Dr. Sonda Oppewal has a distinguished career as nursing educator, administrator, and scholar. She loves working with diverse and vulnerable populations, teaching public health nursing, and promoting academic and community partnerships. In 2017, she received the Teaching Excellence Award from the University of North Carolina (UNC) APPLES Service Learning program. She has given numerous volunteer hours to the American Public Health Association, most recently serving for six years on APHA’s Education Board. In Kenya, she had the privilege of collaborating with colleagues to co-lead a Train the Trainer Faculty Development Workshop that later was used across the country.

To read award recipients’ full bios, please visit the NLN website. For complete information about the 2018 Education Summit, including online registration, visit here.

Reporters interested in covering this event should contact Jane Calem Rosen, NLN communications consultant, at (201) 906-7339 or janeruth515@gmail.com.

About the National League for Nursing
Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 40,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members. NLN members represent nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education, and health care organizations and agencies.