Five SON Faculty Elected to Fellowship in American Academy of Nursing

The American Academy of Nursing announced today its selection of 173 highly distinguished nurse leaders for its 2017 class of Academy fellows, five of whom are UNC School of Nursing faculty! We are delighted to congratulate Drs. Anna Beeber, Beth Black, Cheryl Giscombe, Coretta Jenerette, and Julee Waldrop on this significant achievement!

This class marks the first time the UNC School of Nursing has had five faculty selected to fellowship in the Academy in one year.

Selection criteria for fellowship include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current Academy fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all.

The Class of 2017 joins the following impressive list of School of Nursing faculty. We congratulate them once again!

G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN
Ruth Anderson, PhD, RN, FAAN
Linda Beeber, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, FAAN
Diane Berry, PhD, ANP-BC, FAANP, FAAN
Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN
Carol Durham, EdD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Donna Sullivan Havens, PhD, RN, FAAN
Cheryl Jones, PhD, RN, FAAN
Kathleen Knafl, PhD, FAAN
Barbara Mark, PhD, RN, FAAN
Deborah K. Mayer, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN
Mary H. Palmer, PhD, RN, AGSF, FAAN,
Nilda (Nena) Peragallo Montano, DrPH, RN, FAAN
Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN
Suzanne Thoyre, PhD, RN, FAAN
Marcia Van Riper, PhD, RN, FAAN
Margaret “Peggy” Wilmoth, PhD, RN, FAAN
SeonAe Yeo, PhD, RNC, WHNP, FAAN