Lowdermilk, Alden AJN Book of the Year Award Winners

The 11th edition of Maternity and Women’s Health Care, co-authored by retired faculty member Dee Lowdermilk and Associate Professor Kathy Alden, MSN, RN, came in first in the Maternity category of the American Journal of Nursing’s 2015 Book of the Year Awards.

In earlier editions, Lowdermilk established the tradition of including fellow faculty members in this scholarly work, and Alden has carried that tradition on. Current SON faculty Marcia Van Riper, Rhonda Lanning, Jennifer Alderman, Dusty Dix, Beth Black, Noreen Esposito and Patricia Gingrich all took part in writing this 11th, award-winning edition.

The School of Nursing made an impressive showing on this year’s list, with other texts by Associate Dean Gwen Sherwood and Assistant Professor Chris Harlan receiving awards, as well.

To learn more about the AJN’s Book of the Year Awards, see here.

Congratulations to all!